My Emotional Drama

T.J. Hübner
2 min readDec 28, 2021

--

Photo from Googleimages.com

Every day we were together
I would pray for a breakthrough
That would help me tether
Him to life, anew

Each day I hoped for a clue
That’d lift this disease of damnation
Bring back the father I knew
From the brink of desolation

Both our minds in someway
Ended up lost and confused
His, one in which he had no say
Mine, linked to his and fused

I watched on joined in pain
A long wound out battle fought
Quietly driving us both insane
A fight that was for naught

For that day expected, did come
When all that appeared was tears
As finally, he did succumb
Bringing with it my worst fears

I held his hand in my hand
It was cold and lifeless that morn
The final goodbye I had planned
Never happened, leaving me forlorn

Now two years have passed
I still look back on the events cast
As part of my broken past
Waiting to move on with life at last

But the ghosts of the trauma
Left behind by what I did see
Play out as my emotional drama
Locked in my own head as debris

--

--

T.J. Hübner

Poet, Author, Writer and Ex-Caregiver — Dementia and Caregiver advocate. Lone wolf who has found his voice.